State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Arizona: House Bill 2073 died by rule on February 22, 2019. The bill would have required retailers of vapor products to verify purchasers are not minors, allowed retailers to ship products to purchasers who pay in full, prohibited persons other than retailers from knowingly buying or selling vapor products to another minor, and preempted local regulations for nicotine vapor products.
Arkansas: Senate Bill 571, which levies a special excise tax of 20% upon all retail receipts or proceeds derived from the sale of cigarettes and levies a privilege tax on e-cigarettes that is equal to the total tax levied on other tobacco products that are not cigarettes, passed the Senate and was referred to House Committee on Revenue and Taxation on March 20, 2018; House Bill 1565, which increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, exempts active military, and grandfathers in those who turn 19 by December 31, 2019, imposes a nicotine vapor tax of $.10 per milliliter and adds a tax of $.50 for every 32 sheets of cigarette rolling paper, passed the Senate and was referred to the House Committee on Rules for concurrence on March 20, 2019.
Connecticut: House Bill 6404, which prohibits the sale of flavored electronic cigarette liquid for use in electronic nicotine delivery systems and tobacco products, was reported favorably from the Joint Committee on Children on March 7, 2019.
Delaware: Senate Bill 25, which prohibits the sale of tobacco products and tobacco substitutes to individuals who are under 21, passed the Senate on March 19, 2019.
Florida: Senate Bill 1618, which increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, was placed on the Senate Rules Committee agenda for March 25, 2019.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 887, which, effective July 1, 2050, increases the cigarette tax by an unspecified amount, passed House Health Committee on March 14, 2019 and passed House Consumer Protection and Commerce Committee on March 19, 2019. Senate Bill 1009, which, effective July 1, 2050, bans the sale of flavored tobacco products (except menthol), passed House Health Committee on March 15, 2019 and House Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee on March 20, 2019. Senate Bill 1244, which, effective July 1, 2050, clarifies that violations of the provision for sales of tobacco products to persons under 21 are imposed on the retailer, not the employee making the sale, passed House Health Committee on March 14, 2019 and passed House Judiciary Committee on March 19, 1019. Senate Bill 1405, which taxes e-liquids at 70% of the wholesale price and increases the annual retailer license fee from $20 to $50, passed House Commerce and Consumer Protection and Judiciary Committees on March 20, 2019.
Illinois: House Bill 345, which increases the legal age to purchase tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, moved to the Governor on March 20, 2019.
Indiana: House Bill 1444, which imposes a tax of $.04 per fluid milliliter of consumable material (defined as containing nicotine), will be heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee on March 28, 2019.
Maryland: Senate Bill 895, which raises the minimum sales age for tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 18 to 21 (exempts individuals under age 21 with military identification), passed the Senate on March 18, 2019. House Bill 1169, which raises the minimum sales age for tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 18 to 21, passed the House on March 18, 2019.
Nebraska: Legislative Bill 429, which establishes an excise tax cap for cigars at 50 cents per cigar, will be considered in a hearing in the Legislative Revenue Committee on March 27, 2019.
Rhode Island: House Bill 5830, which creates a comprehensive licensing scheme for cities and towns regarding the sale and control of tobacco products, was recommended to be held for further study in the House Municipal Government Committee on March 14, 2019.
Texas: Senate Bill 21, which increases the legal age to purchase, possess, and consume tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, was left pending in the Senate State Affairs after a public hearing was held on March 18, 2019.
Utah: House Bill 338, which grandfathers retail tobacco specialty businesses existing prior to 2016 from the location restrictions on such businesses, passed the Senate on March 14, 2019 and is now ready for the Governor’s action. Two bills died on adjournment of the Legislature on March 14, 2019: House Bill 252, which would have regulated “alternative nicotine products” such as dissolvable strips and beverages with nicotine, and “nontherapeutic nicotine products” (those that do not require a prescription and are not approved as a nicotine replacement therapy by the FDA) as tobacco products and taxed e-cigarettes, alternative nicotine products and nontherapeutic nicotine products at 86% of the wholesale price; and House Bill 274, which would have created requirements regarding the verification of age when selling an electronic cigarette product or seeking entry into areas restricted to the minimum legal sales age; prohibited an individual from using proof of age fraudulently or permitting the individual's proof of age to be used by another individual fraudulently to obtain an electronic cigarette product or gain entry into those areas; and prohibited a manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer from providing certain discounts or giveaways for electronic cigarette product.
Washington: House Bill 1873, which imposes a tax on vapor products at 95% of the taxable sales price, passed the House Finance Committee on March 14, 2019 and was referred to the House Appropriations Committee on March 19, 2019.