The NATO Regional Education Seminar held on August 23, 2017 at the Omni Interlocken Hotel, in Broomfield, Colorado was overflowing with information about FDA regulations, current product trends, market information, and local and state tobacco legislative issues. The speaker line up included FDA Director Mitch Zeller, Don Burke of Management Science Associates, Bonnie Herzog of Wells Fargo Securities, and NATO’s Executive Director Thomas Briant.
The NATO Regional Education seminar was made possible by the generosity of the following sponsors:
Platinum Sponsor: Altria Group Distribution Company
Silver Sponsor: Swisher International
Bronze Sponsors: ITG Brands, LLC and Seneca
Patron Sponsor: Smoker Friendly International
Affiliate Sponsors: Liggett Vector Brands and Prime Time International
The month of September is We Card Awareness Month and is a good time to train new employees or refresh training of current employees on how to properly request identification of individuals desiring to purchase tobacco products in order to prevent the sale of tobacco to underage youth. We Card’s retail store materials for 2018 are now available and can be ordered by visiting www.wecard.org.
Oklahoma: Senate Bill 845, which would have imposed a smoking cessation fee of $1.50 per pack of cigarettes, failed after being declared unconstitutional by the Oklahoma Supreme Court.
Oregon: Senate Bill 754, which increases the legal age to purchase tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, was signed by the Governor on August 9, 2017. SB754 goes into effect immediately, but enforcement of the law will begin on January 1, 2018.
Texas: House Bill 114a increases the tax on cigarettes by 25 cents per pack.
California: The following bill failed to meet a July 21st procedural deadline for this legislative session: Assembly Bill 709, which prohibits retailers of tobacco products to redeem coupons, provide multi-package discounts, or otherwise sell tobacco products for less than the listed price.
Maine: Senate Bill 391 (LD1170), which raises the minimum sales age for tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 (amended to exclude individuals who are 18 by July 1, 2018), was vetoed by the Governor on July 25, 2017. The legislature is in extended session and will return for a veto session on August 2, 2017.
Massachusetts: House Bill 1158, which prohibits local boards of health from banning the sale of any tobacco products sold legally in the Commonwealth without receiving approval of the town board or city council, and House Bill 1159, which prohibits local boards of health from banning the sale of any legal consumer product sold legally in the Commonwealth without receiving approval of the town board or city council, were heard in the Joint Committee on Public Health on July 25, 2017.
New Jersey: Senate Bill 359/Assembly Bill 2320, which raise the legal age to purchase cigarettes from 19 to 21, was signed into law by Governor Chris Christie. The new law takes effect on November 1, 2017.