State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Alaska: Senate Bill 63, which prohibits smoking and the use of electronic cigarettes in enclosed areas of public places, passed the House Rules Committee on April 11, 2018.
Connecticut: Senate Bill 10 (Governor’s budget bill), which increases the cigarette tax by $.25 per pack (to $4.60/pack), raises the tax cap on a cigar to $1.50 (currently $.50), provides for a floor tax on cigarettes, taxes e-cigarettes at 75% of wholesale, was reported favorably from the Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding on April 5, 2018. House Bill 5095, which would increase the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, failed to meet the Joint Favorable Deadline on April 6, 2018.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 2654, which, effective July 1, 3000, prohibits shipments of tobacco products to anyone other than a licensee, applies the tobacco products tax to e-liquids, creates an electronic cigarette registration unit, increases the tax on all tobacco products by an unspecified amount, provides a defense to retailers who obtain a customer’s I.D. that reasonably appears to indicate a purchaser is at least 21, requires tobacco products to be behind the sales counter in an area inaccessible by the public or in a locked container, and preempts local retail tobacco ordinances, passed House on April 10. The following two bills died on April 6 by missing a procedural deadline: Senate Bill 2304, which, effective July 1, 2050 (and in part, July 1, 2051), prohibits the sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, within 500 feet of public or private schools, public parks and playgrounds, grandfathering in places of business holding valid tobacco licenses on November 1, 2018; and Senate Bill 2843, which, effective July 1, 3000, increases the tax on cigarettes and little cigars from $3.20 to $4.50 per pack, the excise tax on OTP other than large cigars from 70% to 80% of the wholesale price, and the retailer license fee from $2.50 to $500.00.
Kentucky: House Bill 366, which reported from the conference committee with the $.50 cigarette tax increase and floor tax, was adopted by the Senate and the House on April 2, 2018. The bill was vetoed by the Governor on April 9, 2018. On April 13th, the Governor's veto of House Bill 366 was overridden in the House by a vote of 57 to 40 and in the Senate by a vote of 20-18. One more no vote in the Senate would have defeated HB366. The $.50 per pack cigarette tax increase becomes effective July 1, 2018. The floor tax will be calculated on inventory as of 11:59 P.M. on June 30th.